top of page

Monogrammed Paint Stick Flag Decor

Since 4th of July is one my favorite holidays, I wanted to spice up my house with some themed decor.

Looking to add some patriotic flair to your door this summer? Then this is the project for you! With a small list of supplies, you can repurpose those handy freebie paint sticks into beautiful door decor. I took it one step further and personalized my American flag by adding a monogram letter and my last name.


Time Needed: A lot

(took me 2 days)




Materials Needed:

  • 9 - 5 gallon Paint Sticks

  • Monogram Letter

  • Red, White, Blue, & Forest Green Acrylic Paint

  • Paint Brush

  • Paper Plate or Paint tray

  • Sandpaper - 150 medium grit

  • Twine

  • Hot Glue Gun and Glue

  • Painters Tape

  • Hand Saw

  • Wax Paper

  • Measuring tape

  • Scissors

  • Pencil


Optional Items

  • White Vinyl (optional)

  • Vinyl cutting machine (optional)

  • Clear Coat paint (optional)

Now that we have all our materials, Let's get started!!


Step 1

Cut the indented ends off the stick so you have a straight piece.


Step 2

Sand your whole stick to ensure that there are no splinters and frayed edges.


Step 3

Lay down wax paper on your work space surface. I do this so that I do not get paint on my work space surface and so the sticks don't stick to the table.

Step 4

Paint all your sticks white.


I did this to all the paint sticks because there was the hardware's store information on one side, and a ruler on the other in orange paint. I didn't want this showing through to my project.







Step 5 - Blue Section

Tape down each stick in the placement you would like so it does not move. I used a paint stick in between each stick to keep the same distance. Mark off with a pencil where you want the blue section of the flag to be. Use painter's tape to paint a straight line.


Step 6

Paint the blue section.


Step 7

Paint every other horizontal line red. Make sure to start with red at the top, and finish with red at the bottom.








Step 8

Download a five pointed star image from the internet and print it out. Or you can draw your own star, I prefer to print one out so it is as perfect as possible.


Step 9

Cut out the star.


Step 10

Tape around the star to create a stencil.


Step 11

Paint the star white.



Step 12

Cut 2 more sticks to use to secure the back. Make sure these are short and do not overlap the outside. Mine ended up being 10.5 inches long.


Step 13

Sand down the orange markings on the two sticks.








Step 14

Once your paint is dry, flip your project over. Make sure your paint sticks are spaced properly and taped down.







Step 15

Using your glue gun, glue the two short pieces to the back, making sure to place glue on each horizontal stick.







Step 16

Glue the twine to the back of the sticks. I glued down to the third stick to make sure it did not fall.
















OPTIONAL STEPS

Step 17

Paint the monogrammed letter.


Step 18

Using your vinyl cutting machine, design your last name with a desired font to be placed on the monogram. The font I used was called Honey Script. Cut your white vinyl out, weed your vinyl, and place your transfer tape on your vinyl.


Step 19 With your cut vinyl, place on your monogram letter.



Step 20

Now that your monogram letter with your last name is all done, it is time to glue it to your flag. Use your hot glue gun again and be careful to not put too much glue so it comes out over the sides.


Step 21

This is an optional step, but since I plan on having this outside for a few months, I added a clear coat of paint to seal the project.



TAD DA!!! You are now done!!! Your monogramed flag decor is now ready to hang! I hope you enjoyed this tutorial. Make sure to share your project with me and let me know how it went! Comment below!


If you would like to download Honey Script Font for free CLICK HERE


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page