top of page

Discoveries Around the Corner

Updated: May 4, 2020

During this time of COVID-19 Stay At Home Order, it has led us to explore areas around our neighborhood we have missed.


Zackary and Becky's bicycles in front of the The Gamble House


With the beautiful weather showing itself, and the need to stay healthy, it was time to get back in shape. This means rolling out the bicycles and gearing up. If anyone knows me, they know that I HATE working out. BUT! I am trying to stay positive and enjoy working out. Why do I despise working out so much? I think it stems from the first 15 years of my life of being a gymnast. I was required to work out about 40 hours a week, and when I quit, all I wanted to do is relax. So, it is now time to change my mind set and rewire my brain to enjoy working out, and I think it might happen!


Due to the recent stay-at-home orders to flatten the curve of the COVID-19 virus outbreak, there have been many closures throughout Los Angeles county. Luckily, cycling was one of the approved outdoor activities but the areas where you can cycle have been limited. Here in Pasadena, our normal exercise location, the loop around the Rose Bowl has been closed due to too many people exercising too close to each other. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise.


It forced my husband and I to cycle in other areas, having to venture into our nearby neighborhoods to avoid getting a ticket (yes, they are issuing tickets for riding at the Rose Bowl Loop). This led us to accidently come up on the famous Gamble House (see above picture). Living in Pasadena, everyone knows about the Gamble House and its famous architecture. The Gamble House is the epitome of a Pasadena designed home. The Gamble Family commissioned this house by the Greene and Greene architecture firm as a Winter home back in 1908. Since the house was closed, we were able to see the home close up without anyone around. I absolutely love this style of home and it truly has the most iconic Pasadena feel.


“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving”- Albert Einstein

This cycling adventure really helped give me a different perspective on working out. It didn't feel like a work out, but more of an adventure. Adventuring around, observing all the beautiful architecture in the various homes in our neighborhood. Daydreaming the vision of what my perfect house would look and consist of. Absorbing all the diverse smells coming from the recently bloomed flowers. Finding long stretches of streets that smell like grape, and most importantly, enjoying the sunshine.





7 views0 comments
bottom of page